Coping in a Distance Environment: Digital Education

Digital Education… sounds cool right? Totally! And chances are it’s probably efficient as well. However, digital education takes some conditioning, training and a self-motivating attitude to achieve and succeed.

In our day in age, information is taking residence within the Internet. We can access anything we desire. People can teach themselves a new language through the Internet, people can research practically anything they have interest in. Heck, I hate cooking, but I guarantee I can find an easy tutorial on how to make an amazing dinner that will make me look pro.

Needless to say, learning is shifting from the location of a classroom, to the fingertips at your keyboard. It doesn’t matter where you are [you could be on your bed in your pj’s] and you could be learning about the Roman Empire, or how Cardiologists implant stints. Take your pick, the information is only a click away.

So take a moment to think about it. What is online information and learning doing to your life. Can it change the way you perceive information. Does it change your social networks? Does online education provide you with more spare time or less.

As education evolves, and the technology alike, we will be seeing many changes that will either drive our educational system to a new level, or to a spiraling downfall of overwhelming information overload.

In this power point, a study was done upon a set up students who were participating in a online degree program. The school conducted several interviews with students throughout the school year to monitor their progress and opinion of the program.

Here is what they had to say!

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Discussion Leader. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. First of all, I really enjoyed your presentation. Your presentation really engaged me as well as other classmates (i think at least) into the discussion. The study you presented was also very interesting and it just shows that a on-campus classroom is no less than a online environment. In fact, technology we have today is already able to overcome most of the shortcomings accused of online-classroom people were discussing about years ago. I think the article has demonstrated many good points with real evident of how would online classroom would evolved with the advent of technology.

  2. I think that it is important to include online learning in our education because with internet (a powerful tool filled with knowledge… and a lot of it) it is important to learn how to navigate through all the information and find info that will be relevant, insightful, and well teach us. While I’m not pro online classes, I do think classes such as this com 300 that combines both internet assignments but still has a professor you can talk to in person and class discussions are a great way to incorporate both aspects (online and in person). While our schedules get busier and busier, it is nice for some people to take online classes, however I think the social aspect that we gain from personal interactions, and being able to disccuss and gain insight on other people’s thoughts outweigh our “saving of time” that one may benefit from online. In my personal experience, I tend to be more lazy when I take online classes and will put off doing the assignment till the last minute (because we may not have to discuss it in class) I become less engaged in the class usually when I don’t have a teacher to look up to or personally know people in the class who I enjoy hearing their opinions.

  3. I think you picked an article that we can all relate to as students which is fanastic. I really think you did a great job of pulling out the main points of the article including the positives and the negatives that can come from online classes. For my own opinion, I happen to love the convenience of online classes. I have taken both online classes at UW and BC since I have been a student since 2004. I think they are offer a great value for learning for people who have a busy schedule. Most of these classes are very organized, clearly outlined and offer as much of a learning experience as any in poerson classes, even though they may require a lot of work. The amusing point of this is that this class talks about how great online advantages are, the convenience the internet offers and the fact that the world is now at our fingertips without having to leave our living room. Though no one else in the group appreciated the value on having these available. I guess it may be difference between forced and freedom type of online learning that changes people’s opinions.

  4. It is incredible to think about how much the internet has evolved over such a short period of time. In addition, it is unbelievable how readily available practically all information is. Specifically with digital information, you make a valid point about how it takes “training and a self-motivating attitude to achieve and succeed.” I have taken a few online courses and it definitely took some getting used it. I had to learn how to manage my time effectively and learn to go without the reminders from my professors as I would in a normal classroom. I think that taking an online class is becoming more of a norm as the capabilities of technology increase and more “technologically advanced” generations are born.

  5. I really enjoyed your presentation, and liked the ideas you presented. I agree with the 7 aspects of coping with online courses. i wish they told us that before we take the classes. with the proper preparation and mindset going into these classes, i think online education could be a very valuable tool for both educators and students.

  6. Althought I didn’t attend your discussion session, but I think you picked a really interesting topic.

    Personally I’ve taken online classes before, and I found there are both good side and bad side about it. The good thing is that the time of online classes is more flexible compare to actual classes, for example, I can read the lectures and do my homework according to my schedule and it really saves my time.

    However, the bad thing for me is that it’s not as effecient as the offline classes. For instance, I felt that I prefer face to face lectures rather than online lectures. I think it relates to my personal habbits, I can concentration more when I hear someone speaking rather than reading it. The biggest reason is that there are already a lot of reading assignments everyday, so to read more is like information overload to me, and I found it hard to finish them sometimes.

  7. Although I did not get a chance to join in your discussion, I found that your PowerPoint is very organized. I really like the table and chart that you provide. They make your ideas very understandable and readable. According to your point of view, I think different people fit different learning style. Some students like to manage their time by themselves, so they love taking online classes, others like to have physical classroom and enjoy the learning experience by working with classmates and teachers. I think both of them are find, just depend on what the person want, need, or like. Otherwise, I like the video that you post, the little boy is cute, and what he says remind me that today little kids are very familiar with the new technologies, and they are the digital native; so it become a challenge for us to teach them. It is an interesting topic that we could think about. You did a really good job, I like your post!

  8. It’s really interesting topic! I think online class is convenient for people who are hard to fit in actual time schedule. I thought online class is useful before I took few online classes. They were organized well but there were so much works to do since there is only way that teachers can know how much I’m engaged to class. It was time consuming than I expected and also I felt that classmates are not engaged in class discussion, they do just class works what only teachers assigned.

  9. You did a fantastic job with both delivering your presentation and with your powerpoint!! It was so easy to follow and the entire presentation was engaging and interesting. :)

    I loved learning about the topic you researched because I think that digital education is such a prevalent issue in our lives right now and it is only going to continue to be so even more for future generations. I’ve taken about three online classes so far and have found them to actually be more challenging than actually attending a regular class. When you were explaining the study that was done I was wondering, “why hasn’t anyone thought of doing this before for all students enrolled in online classes?”

    By having students meet before the class began to enroll in a boot camp it provides students not only with new relationships to use as resources but it also gives them a background of knowledge regarding the technology they will be using to complete their courses. In education today we would never expect someone in first grade to be able to do long division. This kind of knowledge takes alot of practice and background information that is built over time.

    I think it would be a lot more effective to look at digital education in the same way. If all online courses were approached with some kind of boot camp that explained and gave students practice with the technology, it would save so much time and energy that is wasted troubleshooting with the technology itself. As a result of eliminating all the confusion with actually using the technology and digital media, we will be able to learn so much more in a short amount of time and in a more effective way.

  10. It is very unintelligent and naive to believe that traditional ways of educating oneself are always going to be the best ways. With the networking leaps and bounds we have made in the past decade we can communicate across distance on more personal levels than ever before. The personal learning networks are constantly being re-modified, combined, and extrapolated. Through a more user-friendly interface one can access information much more easily, which is why I agree that we are bound to see an evolved world of academia in the next couple of years. Your presentation was good, although I would have liked to see you mention that the younger people are much more able to navigate the more technologically complex programs, meaning there will be less difficulty implementing online methods of teaching established curriculum.

  1. Pingback: week 5 – Wednesday (20 July 2011) « COM300: Basic Concepts of New Media

Leave a Reply

