Reflection

Being a discussion leader was a fun yet challenging project that I had a lot of fun doing. I got the idea for my project from one of the readings assigned to us on the wired website about digital economics. The article started out talking about how a recommendation on Amazon caused a book to go from obscurity to a best seller. This idea really intrigued me so I looked for a similar article. The article I found was about how people use and misuse Amazon reviews. It was a good experience turning the study done in the article into a presentation about the overall effect of online reviews.

The presentation itself went pretty well except for some minor volume issues. I found a video on youtube related to the same topic. The video is about how a recommendation and reviews can change the economics of online stores. The first group couldn’t really hear the video so it didn’t have as much of an impact as it did for the second group. The second group really grasped the relevance of the video and it caused for a good discussion about online comments and the effect it has on purchases. I believe that the overall message got across that it is important to be aware of comments and to realize that people have agendas. Comments should be taken with a grain of salt because everybody has a bias and some people are only commenting to promote themselves. Overall I had a lot of fun and I am glad that I got to be a discussion leader.

Posted on July 25, 2011, in Discussion Leader. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

