Chinese Internet-Media

Abstract

China has a huge growth rate on internet population in the early 2000s, the growth rate once jumped up to 159%. Internet is a very good place to gather people together in the early 21st century.Chinese government sees the usage of the internet media, trying to engage more citizens into the politics through the internet.

The research I found “analyzes the main features and political functions of Chinese Internet–mediated networks that inhabit and traverse online and offline realms and that derive strength from their amphibious character whether they are primarily based online or offline. ” It discussed the Internet activism in China, Characteristics of Internet–mediated networks in China, The politics and transboundary dynamics of Internet–mediated networks, Overview of four empirical cases, Information politics, Symbolic politics, Leverage politics, Accountability politics, Internet–mediated networks and informational politics in China, and Conclusion and theoretical implications. (Yang, 2005) I took the part of Internet activism in China, The politics and transboundary dynamics of Internet–mediated networks, Information politics, Symbolic politics, Leverage politics, Accountability politics to discuss in our class. According to my research,  among those four types of politics, the information politic influenced the Chinese society and Chinese people’s daily life the most. According to my research, the article identifies prominent features of this informational politics and discusses how new norms about information and information technologies are articulated and contested and what implications they have for democratic struggles in China. (Yang, 2005) It is very interesting to see how the online politics works in China, it is not a country full of freedom, and it has its own way to make the huge country works.

Citation

Yang, Guobin; 2005; Activists beyond Virtual Borders: Internet-Mediated Networks and Informational Politics in China; First Monday, Special Issue #7: Command Lines: The Emergence of Governance in Global Cyberspace; http://firstmonday.org/htbin/cgiwrap/bin/ojs/index.php/fm/article/view/1609/1524

About jinx3uw

COM 300 blog

Posted on August 7, 2011, in Discussion Leader. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great Job on your presentation!

    Definitely, this was news that I’m not familiar with. The four different kinds of politics caught me off guard at first, but I think it was very interesting. What I am familiar with is this the censorship in China. I know there is this firewall where it filters out what goes in and out of the web in China. I also know that there are specialized people who watch what everyone does online. There are also features on the web where it notifies the user if they are using something that is inappropriate or not allowed; it will flag it.

    You asked what the difference is between China and the U.S. web. Right of the bat, you know there’s a big difference even between the filters and firewall. China is definitely more strict about the information that’s released. In my opinion, I do like democracy more. I think everyone should be able to express their opinions.

  2. Your presentation looks terrific and I would have loved to be able to hear it. Looking through the Powerpoint, I find the graph particularly attention-grabbing. One can clearly see that though the growth rate is decreasing in China, the number of activists using the Internet is soaring incredibly. I find this particularly interesting, as I have gathered that it is actually quite difficult to be very opinionated in China (particularly about politics) without drawing the ire of the government there. I have heard that, naturally, there are hackers over in China just like everywhere else, and that they try to circumvent that security and information wall erected by the government. Do these hackers then pave the way for the surge of activists getting online as shown in the graph? Surely, the government has seen such statistics. Why then are they not stopping it? Not enough manpower? That seems a bit strange, considering the large population number. Most likely, a good fraction of that population is involved in governmental work as well. Or perhaps the government believes that it can control its people and maintain its iron fist.

  3. I found your topic really intriguing. I wish i was there for your presentation.
    Nevertheless, this is a very serious problem for china and for people in China to be able to get information necessary. A couple of my friends living in China, for example. have no access to facebook or any other foreign social media tools. And i know unless its northkorea, it is almost impossible to block people completely away from world out there. To answer your first question, I am a Taiwanese so i have certain understanding about Chinese Politics and how a lot of information are strictly blocked in China. However, to be honest, Taiwanese , although we claim ourself to have more FREEDOM than Chinese do, we still have a lot of misunderstanding about China and its politics. I really do not know if time is going to bridge the gap or will having the access of internet really better the understanding of people in mainland and Taiwan. .

  4. I enjoy to join in your discussion group, which talked about some things that happens in China but can hardly be image in the U.S.. I have some Chinese friends who study in UW, they told me that they can not use Facebook as they go back to China. It was actually a shock for me, because, I come form Taiwan which is very near China, but I never believe that government can control people like our parent do. It is ridiculous that government block Facebook and YouTube which are used world wide. After discussed with the group you host, I learned that it is difficult to govern such a big country and the culture is also a reason why your government does that. Nevertheless, I believe someday your government must accept that technology improvement is a trade that they should follow.

  5. Your presentation is on a very interesting topic, especially because you are presenting it in a country where the government is extremely different. I can only imagine how the political system works in China. The use of the internet in China has been brought up in another communication class that I am taking and there was a discussion about the limitations posed by the Chinese government. This has to have a huge impact on the information that Chinese citizens see. When the government blocks search terms on every search engine, it must impact on how people feel about the government. Reading the other posts, it seems like Facebook and other social media sites are banned so this must limit the conversation Chinese citizens are having about the leadership of their country. To me, because of how I was raised, and the country I was raised in, I can’t imagine being so limited in the information I could access. But I realize that growing up in China, this is the only way they know and it doesn’t feel wrong to a lot of people. Great topic!

Leave a Reply

